

Briefing note

To: Schools Forum **Author:** Christina Ponting, ENGIE

Date: 22nd December

2017

Title of Briefing: Schools Forum Members Guidance/Briefing Note

January 2018 - Individual Voting

Background

At the December 2017 Schools Forum new members confirmed that they would benefit from an update on how voting operates (existing members also confirmed that this would be of benefit to them). Please find noted below an update which we hope will be helpful:

As per the Schools Forum Constitution (May 2017) Section 10 (noted below), all members have a vote and can vote on a number of items depending upon which 'funding' block/area the specific item needing a vote on falls into.

- 10.1 Where the Forum is voting on matters before them decisions will be determined by a simple majority vote of members present. Voting is limited to the roles that each member is there to undertake and Annex A notes which members can vote on which elements. However, in general terms, voting on:
- funding formula is limited to school members, academy members and PVI representatives
- b) de-delegation is limited to specific the specific phase: e.g.
 - Primary (including First and Nursery) and
 - Secondary (including Middle and High)

As noted in Annex A, members who can vote on these elements include locality based representatives (Head teacher) and none locality based representatives (other Head teachers^[1], Governors and Academy representatives.)

- 10.2 For clarity, again as referenced in Annex A, non-school members (e.g. 16-19 Providers, EY & PVI, Church (both CofE and RC) Trust and TU) are allowed to vote on all other matters.
- 10.3 For clarity the following principles apply to voting:
 - a member cannot carry votes for other members who are not able to attend the meeting.

^[1] Nursery, PRU, Special

- all member votes hold an equal value.
- where a proposal is made by Schools Forum and a result is not carried:
 - o a further vote(s) may be undertaken within the same meeting.
 - o a further vote may be undertaken at a future meeting.
- where a vote cannot be agreed the status quo will be maintained/remain in place.

As you will see from 10.3 above, all members need to be present to vote and votes cannot be carried. Each relevant member has to vote on each item and the majority vote will carry. If agreement cannot be reached the status quo will be maintained or until a further vote(s) results in majority vote being reached. All votes are equal and no one individual (including the Chair and Vice Chair) carry a deciding vote.

The voting areas fall into 5 categories of funding:

de-	de-	scheme	consultation	all
delegation	delegation	for	on funding	other
Primary	Secondary	financing	formula	matters
		schools		

However, again as noted in 10.1 not all members can vote in all 5 areas:

- Primary and Secondary have 4 vote areas: only Primary can vote on primary de-delegation and only Secondary can vote on secondary de-delegation. But these individuals including Governors can also vote on the other 3 elements - scheme for financing schools, consultation on funding formula and all other matters.
- Nursery, PRU, Special, Academy have 3 votes only for scheme for financing schools, consultation on funding formula and all other matters.
- 16-19, EY/PVI have 2 votes only for consultation on funding formula and all other matters.
- Church, Trust and TU have 1 vote only for scheme for all other matters.
- LA Representatives do not have a vote on any item.

Attached is a current member list – noted alongside the voting blocks.

In the past, when voting has occurred (which is the exception) the item is introduced under the appropriate funding block, clarity is given on the item being discussed and members are asked if they wish to support the funding as a collective or take a vote. Members will indicate on the day if they feel a vote is necessary and the Chair of the Forum will take a lead on this.

Where it is determined that a vote is needed, but before a vote takes place, clarity is given on a line by line basis on who can vote (and who cannot) and then a vote takes place.

Votes are counted and noted – votes fall into either a yes, no, abstain. The number of votes cast – should correlate to those in the room who can vote and this is recorded.

If a vote carries then this becomes the formal decision recorded and cannot be withdrawn and this becomes the confirmed way forward. If a majority cannot be reached the status quo/prior recorded decision will remain. It may be that members agree to a further voting/ discussion rather than maintain the 'status-quo' but that will be up to members to determine/ discuss.

Once voting has concluded – the agreed way forward is noted and it is also agreed who confirm service areas/ managers, and/or who picks up any further/ needed actions (such actions are commonly asked to be enacted by LA officers).

North Tyneside Schools Forum Member Roles & Voting – as at September 2017

Red	Purple	Blue	Green	Orange					
de- delegation Primary	de- delegation Secondary	scheme for financing schools	consultation on funding formula	all other matters					
1	2	3	4	5					
		Voting			Phase	Role	Name	Location	Term Expires
								School Members	
								North West	
х		X	X	Х	Primary	Head	Stephen Baines	Holystone primary School	Jan-19
х		X	х	Х	Primary	Head	Jill Forster	Benton Dene Primary School	May-18
	X	X	X	X	Secondary	Head	Paul Quinn	Longbenton Community College	Sep-18
								North East	
X		x	X	X	First	Head	Colleen Ward	Coquet Park First School	Oct-19
x		X	X	х	First	Head	Sharron Colpitts-Elliott	Rockcliffe First School	Oct-18
	Х	X	Х	Х	High	Head	Steve Wilson	Whitley Bay High School	Jul-18
	Х	X	х	Х	Middle	Head	John Newport	Marden Bridge Middle School	May-19
								South West	
x		X	X	X	Primary	Head	Andrew James	St Aidan's RC Primary School	May-18
x		X	X	X	Primary	Head	Angi Gibson	Hadrian Park Primary	Sep-18
	X	x	Х	X	Secondary	Head	David Baldwin	Churchill Community College	Oct-19
								South East	
X		X	Х	X	Primary	Head	Gavin Storey	Cullercoats Primary School	Jul-17
X		X	Х	X	Primary	Head	Laura Bagget	Monkhouse Primary School	May-18
	Х	Х	Х	Х	Secondary	Head	Jim Stephenson	John Spence Community College	Oct-19
								School Members Non Locality Based	
Х		X	X	X	Primary/First	Governor	Alan Brown	Hadrian Park Primary	Jan-20
X		X	X	X	Primary/ First	Governor	Peter Thorp	Redesdale Primary School	Nov-19
	Х	X	X	Χ	Secondary/Middle	Governor	David Bavaird	Norham High School	Oct-19
	X	X	Х	X	Secondary/Middle	Governor	David Grigg	John Spence Community High School	Nov-19
		X	X	X	Nursery	Head	John Croft	Sir James Knott Nursery	Jan-19
		X	X	X	PRU	Head	Karen Croskery	Moorbridge School	Feb-19
		X	X	X	Special	Head	Peter Gannon	Silverdale School	Feb-19
		X	X	X	Academy	Other	David Watson	St Thomas More RC Academy	Feb-19
		Х	Х	Х	Academy	Other	Phillip Sanderson	Kings Priory School	May-18
								hools Members Non Locality Based	
			х	Х	16-19 Providers	Other	Ann-Marie Crozier	North Tyneside College	Oct-18
			Х	Х	EY PVI	Other	Sharon Thpmson	Nursery	May-17
				X	C of E Diocese	Other	Eileen Bell	Bursar - Church of England Diocese North East	Oct-19
				X	RC Diocese	Other	Collette Bland	St Mary's RC Primary (North Shields)	Feb-19
				X	Trust	Other	Kehri Ellis	North Tyneside Learning Trust	May-18
				X	Trust	Other	Paul Durgan	Woodard Academies Trust	May-18
				X	Trade Union	Other	Claire McCleod	NASUWT	May-18
							LA Officers -	Not Members of Forum - Advisors/Support	

LA	Head of Service (on behalf of the DCS)	Mark Longstaff	NTC
LA	Head of Service (Section 151)	Janice Gillespie	NTC
Administration Support	PA to Head of Service	Lesley Mitchell	NTC
Schools Finance	ENGIE	Elaine Appleby	ENGIE/NTC PARTNERSHIP
Schools HR	ENGIE	Christina Ponting	ENGIE/NTC PARTNERSHIP
Finance Support	ENGIE	Joanne Soutar	ENGIE/NTC PARTNERSHIP